ALL Hunt Smart® 2018 Course Positions filled. Book now for 2019. Contact Now

Errol Mason's Hunt Smart ® Training Course


Hunt Smart® Success Stories

Andrew Winwood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #65

Andrew Winwood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, Another magnificent sambar stag taken since attending your course.

Read Full Story >>

Andrew Winwood, Devonport Tasmania

To read why Andrew and his son Levi have been so successful since attending our course, buy your copy of our new book Secrets of the Sambar - The Hunt Smart System which features Andrew’s story and many other success stories and explains why each was successful. AND OR book your position on the limited number (5) of Hunt Smart Courses we are running in 2019. Already positions are filling fast.

Rod Hart - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #64

Rod Hart - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, I was fortunate enough to take this magnificent sambar stag after attending your Hunt Smart course.

Read Full Story >>

Rod Hart, ACT

To read why Rod was successful after attending our course, buy your copy of our new book Secrets of the Sambar - The Hunt Smart System which features Rod’s story and many other course success stories and explains why each was successful. AND OR book your position on the limited number (5) of Hunt Smart Courses we are running in 2019. Already positions are filling fast.

Michael Mann / Mark Brown - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #63

Michael Mann / Mark Brown - Sambar Deer Success Story Michael Mann / Mark Brown - Sambar Deer Success Story Michael Mann / Mark Brown - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi there Errol, It was May 2016 when Michael Mann and I joined you for the Hunt Smart course – a thoroughly informative and enjoyable time that set us both up with an understanding of Sambar Deer and their behaviours enabling us to go on to successfully hunt deer in a range of locations and conditions – from private property to state parks, in mid-winter, through to the hot dry spells we have had this last summer.

Using the information you gave us has allowed us to determine where the deer are most likely to be, and how to get in front of them with the lowest possibility of them being aware of us. I’m not going to go over the things you taught us as you would already know what I would be thinking of, but suffice to say that we still reminisce about our course with you.  We have taken many deer since then, but just last week Mick and I narrowed down an area we “knew” there had to be deer in and worked out when and how we could get in front of them. We saw stags every day and nailed this great example (28¾ X 29¼). I have also included a photo of another really nice stag I took since the course. Being such a “textbook” case of putting your principles into practice – even before we shot a deer Michael and I said this would be “one for Errol”. Read Full Story >>

Kind Regards,

Mark Brown and Michael Mann – Livin’ the Dream - Croydon Vic

To read why Mark and Michael have been so successful since attending our course, buy your copy of our new book Secrets of the Sambar - The Hunt Smart System which features their story and many other success stories and explains why each was successful. AND OR book your position on the limited number (5) of Hunt Smart Courses we are running in 2019. Already positions are filling fast.

Brayden Muskett - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #62

 Brayden Muskett - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol,  Just letting you know I managed to get the drop on this one yesterday arvo. He was doing precisely what you said they do when a cold front is about to hit.

Your course helped me enormously. It really is an investment in a lifetime of more enjoyable and successful hunting and is easily worth the money. Read Full Story >>

Brayden Muskett, Hobart TAS

Michael Mann - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #61

Michael Mann - Sambar Deer Success Story Michael Mann - Sambar Deer Success Story
Thank you Errol and Lynne for your hospitality and the professionalism with which you run the Hunt Smart course. The detail covered on the course enabled Mark Brown (pictured here with the stag he took several days after attending the Hunt Smart Training course) and I to take these two stags.

The first was taken just one day after the course and the second three days later, with other opportunities in between to take unalarmed deer. This is the first year that I have hunted and struggled to find credible information to help me. I purchased the Secrets of the Sambar trilogy and read them previously, yet we found the course invaluable to bring clarity to what we had already learned. The books, which are great, helped me to already take a stag, but by physically walking through your teachings I benefitted much more. Rather than standing alone, they complement one another. It was amazing to methodically work through the training and to see the predictability of the sambar. Changing the culture of hunting from walking them up has not been easy but the results speak for themselves. I would recommend this course to all. Thanks again. Read Full Story >>

Michael Mann & Mark Brown, Ringwood North, VIC

Robin G A Vetch - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #60

Robin G A Vetch - Sambar Deer Success Story Robin G A Vetch - Sambar Deer Success Story Robin G A Vetch - Sambar Deer Success Story
G'day Errol, 

I thought I would pen you a quick message to inform you my brother (Nicholas) and I have just spent a very successful seven days in a lovely remote spot in the Alpine National Park. It was our first real hunting trip since we both completed your course over a year ago.

Needless to say we employed a tremendous amount of the knowledge you imparted to us both to have us hunting smarter in what was some pretty tricky country to hunt. We observed many unalarmed deer and took six animals for the seven days. 4 stags and two hinds. All meat recovered and some lovely antlers for the mantel piece.
 Of particular note - aside from the success - was the brilliant Vixen 2.5-10 x 56 scope sitting atop my brothers new Sako A7 Hunter in .270. In the early mornings and late afternoons it was unbelievably bright. A lovely bit of glass.
 We both can’t thank you enough for your attention to detail and knowledge of these amazing animals. You slowed us down, made us stop, glass, look and find where they were going to be instead of trying to find them where they couldn’t be found. With the right conditions they came to us.

I trust this message finds you… Read Full Story >>

Robin G A Vetch

Brett McGuffie - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #59

Brett McGuffie - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, Here is a couple of photos of a Sambar hind that Grant and I took about 6hrs after we left your course. It was very informative and put a whole new perspective on the big picture.

Just prior to this Grant and I saw 2 stags heading over a saddle to the west side of the range with a very strong and icy easterly right behind them. Once again a great course. Read Full Story >>

Brett McGuffie

Tory Bird - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #58

Tory Bird - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, I recently attended your hunt smart education course in May. Knowledge gleaned on your course has helped me bring down this old stag with some great battle scars. I’m in the process of writing a short story about the hunt which was action packed from wo-to-go. 

Thanks again for all the knowledge here are some photos of myself with Deni and his stag. We are both graduates of your Hunt Smart course. Read Full Story >>

Tory Bird, Mernda VIC

Dave Parker - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #57

Dave Parker - Sambar Deer Success Story
I just returned from a successful hunt after attending Errol’s course earlier this year. I hunted a gully that had several feeders, good north facing slopes as well as access to prime pasture.

After a day of scouting and glassing I chose a spot which was a ‘funnel’ from the farmland with a view into the flats as meat was my primary goal for this hunt. I did a sit and wait at dusk however did not see anything that night. So I moved closer to the pasture to another site that I had chosen and had prepared. I got up at 4am and it was a relatively warm 8°C and foggy when I awoke. I followed the creek into my spot that had a great view of the flats from across a creek. I sat glassing until about 40 minutes after first light by which time it was quite bright and I could hear traffic and dogs from the nearby town so I was adamant that I must have missed them coming off the pasture. I knelt up, started to fold my stool then ‘honk’ and several deer thundered up the face behind me. Thinking I was definitely done, I then heard another honk, stamping feet and ho… Read Full Story >>

Dave Parker, Stanwell Park, NSW

Daniel McMaster - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #56

Daniel McMaster - Sambar Deer Success Story Daniel McMaster - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, I completed your Course a couple of years back now and I am happy to report that the tactics learnt have aided me in taking and seeing some nice deer since completing it. Including my first stag!!!

I also wish to purchase the Vixen 2.5-15 x 50 scope with illuminated G4 reticle. Can I purchase direct from you. If not please point me to the nearest shop to Frankston which stocks this scope. Thank you. Regards, Read Full Story >>

Daniel McMasters, Moorabbin Vic

Steve Motta - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #54

Steve Motta - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, After attending your Hunt Smart Course I have harvested several Sambar with great confidence in a variety of conditions.

Recently on a hunt with my GSP, we bumped a Sambar stag out of his bed and as he climbed up from the gully floor I caught a glimpse of antler as he stopped behind thick cover. I had no problem picking his figure out through the scope and taking the shot. This was my first Sambar stag, and made even more special by having my young GSP by my side. Knowledge acquired on your Hunt Smart course made it all come together for me and my dog. Read Full Story >>

Steve Motta, Greenvale VIC

Luke Myers - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #53

Luke Myers - Sambar Deer Success Story Luke Myers - Sambar Deer Success Story Luke Myers - Sambar Deer Success Story Luke Myers - Sambar Deer Success Story
2015 was a great year for Luke Myers. Below are Sambar trophies taken by Luke in 2015 after attending the Hunt Smart Training Course in May.

I would just like to say a huge personal thank you for your help and knowledge I gained from your course in May 2015.
 I had a very successful season afterwards and the extra knowledge really made my hunting more enjoyable. Cheers, Read Full Story >>

Luke Myers, Bacchus Marsh VIC

Sebastian Santoro - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #52

Sebastian Santoro - Sambar Deer Success Story Sebastian Santoro - Sambar Deer Success Story
| Although I had been hunting sambar for many years with considerable success I believe there is also something new to learn.

So in July this year my friend Emmanuel Daood - a newcomer to sambar - and I attended Errol’s Hunt Smart course. Applying what we learnt a few months later Emmanuel took a magnificent Sambar Stag and on the day before the AFL Grand Final I took this fine specimen. How good is that? Read Full Story >>

Sebastian Santoro, Mill Park VIC

Emmanuel Daood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #51

Emmanuel Daood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Morning Errol, I’m stoked and still pinching myself and I'm even more stoked now that I'll be one of those success stories in your magazine...

Who would have thought two years ago when I obtained my hunting licence and started reading your magazines and books and then attended your Hunt Smart course that you would be asking me if I would like my success story included in your magazine. It’s an honour. Thank you mate. It proves that hard work and knowledge does pay off. Read Full Story >>

Emmanuel Daood, Broadmeadows VIC

Cassie McGee & Levi Winwood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #50

Cassie McGee & Levi Winwood - Sambar Deer Success Story
As the winner of the 2012 Arthur Bentley Memorial Literary Award for my article “When All The Stars Align” published in Issue # 1, I was awarded a position on the Hunt Smart Training Course.

As a result of being a Hunt Smart graduate, I was armed with knowledge vital to assisting my girlfriend Cassie McGee to harvest this magnificent stag. Read how we did it in Issue 12 of SOTS magazine. Read Full Story >>

Levi Winwood, Adelaide SA

Paul Williams - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #49

Paul Williams - Sambar Deer Success Story
G'day Errol, Just letting you know that I took my first Sambar stag using knowledge gained at your course.

He had no idea I was there until he stood up about 20 yards in front of me, giving me a clear shot with the Lee Enfield. It was a clear windy day in July and I knew from the course where they would likely to be bedded down in the conditions, so with the wind in my face I stalked carefully down the face. There was a rustle of leaves as a young stag suddenly stood up 20 yards in front of me. I had the rifle up before he was fully standing. He was quartered away, with his head turned towards me, presenting a good neck shot. He was a young stag with one deformed antler, but I was thrilled to get my first Sambar. Thanks for all your help Read Full Story >>

Paul Williams, Adelaide SA

Luke Myers
 - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #48

Luke Myers
 - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol

, Only 2 months after being at your course, I was fortunate enough to harvest this magnificent stag on a solo backpack trip into some remote country.

The stag was right where you said he would be in the weather conditions at that time. He was following a hind and they had no idea I was there, so I was able to wait for the stag to turn broadside, and take a perfectly aimed shot at precisely the right moment. Your course really helped me gain a greater knowledge and understanding of the behaviour of sambar, when, why, and what they do!
 Thank you
! Read Full Story >>

Luke Myers
, Bacchus Marsh VIC

Andrew Rosser - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #46

Andrew Rosser - Sambar Deer Success Story Andrew Rosser - Sambar Deer Success Story
It's now 3 years on since I did the Errol Mason "Hunt Smart Training Course" and my approach to hunting will never be the same. I have seen more deer and have had the opportunity to take deer on every trip since completing this course.

Since attending I have had only 3 trips into Sambar country, in this time I have shot 2 stags and this year guided a mate of mine onto his first stag and hind. I highly recommend Errol’s "Hunt Smart Training Course" it has given me the knowledge and confidence in the bush. The course not only gives you the theory behind the where, why and how but practical tools to go along with it. Thanks again Errol for sharing your lifetime of knowledge and experience. Read Full Story >>

Andrew Rosser

Clint Collings - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #45

Clint Collings - Sambar Deer Success Story
Dear Errol and Lynne, Thanks again for your hospitality. It was a pleasure to meet you both and get to learn so much from Errol. I learned a lot from the course, especially after reading the Secrets of the Sambar trilogy, as the course really brings it all together.

The day after attending your 3 day hunt smart course I went back to my sambar spot where, over two days, I put into practice the low impact hunting methods. I was able to see 16 unalarmed sambar, 8 of which were stags and all within shooting range. I decided to pass up a nice 25 inch as he was not quite the size I was after. Using what I learnt from the trilogy and the course on the 31st of August - less than 2 months after doing the course - I was fortunate enough to take this fine trophy. The Hunt Smart course is excellent and I recommend it to any sambar hunter of any level of experience. There is so much to learn about this magical deer. Thanks, Read Clint’s complete "text book" account as to how he harvested this magnificent stag in the next issue (#9) of our magazine. It’s a ripper story. Read Full Story >>

Clint Collings, Canberra

Mafi Parutua - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #44

Mafi Parutua - Sambar Deer Success Story
Thanks for all the advice Errol, Attending your course has finally paid off...I am very happy!!!

Read Full Story >>

Kind regards, Mafi Parutua

Dave Noakes - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #43

Dave Noakes - Sambar Deer Success Story Dave Noakes - Sambar Deer Success Story
Errol, I wanted to let you know that I bagged my first deer a few days after the course. Having attended your course I managed to turn myself from a heavily armed bushwalker into a hunter. The Hunt Smart course taught me exactly where the deer would be so I wasn't spending my time wondering aimlessly around the forest.

Being able to drive (or walk) into a location and know where to be looking (and not) straight away is such a bonus. Previously I had spent a hefty 30 odd days out walking from 6 to 10 hours a day up and down hills on trips in the last year alone. Seeing 3 deer within an hour in an old spot the next day after the course I decided hunting pressure was too heavy in the area (this is also taught on the course), so I moved on to a new area some hundreds of kilometres away. Using the Hunt Smart system I set up several spots after some calculated scouting of the areas and shot this Sambar with the first setup scenario that I tried just 4 days after the course. Awesome!! Some great eating ahead. I’d like to also add that doing your course gives you the chance to meet other hunters that are just as serious about learning how to harvest these magnificent animals and team up to go on future h… Read Full Story >>

Dave Noakes, Dickson ACT

Karl Hartney - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #42

Errol, I had to let you know how impressed I have been with your Hunt Smart Course. The knowledge imparted by you in three days was a blessing for my Sambar hunting techniques. Your system has allowed me to observe, not just more deer, but deer that are unalarmed and not aware I am there.

I not only have the time to observe them but also the confidence to choose and harvest on my terms. Hunting has never been so more enjoyable than now. A must do course for anybody who is serious about hunting Sambar. Read Full Story >>

Karl Hartney, Gisborne VIC

Dominic Stivala - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #41

Dominic Stivala - Sambar Deer Success Story
In the early days I spent many hours bashing through scrub and it took me 17 years to shoot my first deer. Most of my hunting was "walk them up" style and something had to change if I was to start enjoying success on a regular basis.

So I purchased Errol Mason’s three books - Secrets of the Sambar Vol. 1, 2 & 3 and started reading and putting into practice his methods. Wow!!! Immediately l started to see more deer but they usually got away as l was still not completely sure of all the things l should be taking into account when hunting. At this stage l had just five deer to my account in 22 years so l decided to book into the Hunt Smart Course that Errol runs. Bingo - all the information from his books came together as he explained it in a way that you can easily understand. First he explained using PowerPoint on a large screen and followed it up with field trips where he takes you through different scenarios and teaches you how to apply overlays to narrow down where the deer are going to be. This is where you really start to get it and it sinks in really fast. Since the course l now see between seven to th… Read Full Story >>

Dominic Stivala, Rosebud VIC

Matt Robinson - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #40

Matt Robinson - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, It hasn't stopped raining since we left course 4 days ago. We put what we learnt into action and found the area has had of lots of hunting pressure, but all the signs were like blueprint as taught on the course.

We went a little more remote and found this hind high on the western face late arvo feeding on a game trail as she contoured around the face at about 3pm. Perfect broadside shot at 120 yards. She didn’t even know I was there. Finally success just 3 days after leaving the course. Thank you, Read Full Story >>

Matt Robinson, Wallan VIC

Chris Brereton, Bairnsdale - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #39

Chris Brereton, Bairnsdale - Sambar Deer Success Story Chris Brereton, Bairnsdale - Sambar Deer Success Story
After relocating to East Gippsland to hunt Sambar and stumbling through the scrub armed for most of the time, I decided it was time to invest in the Hunt Smart course and have not looked back.

Finding a remote wallow in my pre-course hunts and hunting it several times over almost two years with only one encounter - where my presence was easily detected - but getting photos of many deer on my trail camera, I returned immediately after attending Errol’s course with my newfound knowledge. Over several months using low impact techniques I constructed a tree stand and waited for the right weather forecast. My first morning in it a stag rose up out of the mud. I observed him unalarmed for several amazing minutes and then calmed myself before harvesting him with one well-placed shot. An instant kill. Six days later I returned to the spot hoping the heavy rain that fell that afternoon had washed away all my scent but it didn’t matter for as the morning wore on my Hunt Smart knowledge told me I would be better to head into the gully on the opposite side of the ridge, and in… Read Full Story >>

Chris Brereton, Bairnsdale

Jonno Butt - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #38

Jonno Butt - Sambar Deer Success Story
Late last year my son Levi was lucky enough to win the Arthur Bentley Memorial Literary Award which is a position on Errol Mason's Hunt Smart Sambar Training Course. Not wanting Levi to gain all that knowledge on his own, I made a call and luckily Errol made a space for me on an already booked out weekend.

My normal hunting mates Paul and Jonno travelled with us and dropped us off and continued on to our regular hunting property - private property near Omeo. We had arranged to meet late on Sunday after Levi and I completed Errol’s course. Both Levi and I have hunted sambar with some varying level of success, we believed that if we wanted to land a quality trophy we needed to learn more. Errol’s course not only taught us some basic stuff that we have known for so many years, but it also some real tactics that we had no idea about and were keen to get to the bush to try. We left Errol’s on Sunday night determined to stop wasting our limited holiday time bush walking with a rifle up those hills and getting honked at. Yes - we were determined to put Errol’s tactics to use and improve our success rate. The course was a great insight into the many years Errol has spent st… Read Full Story >>

Jonno Butt

Kurt Pongratz - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #37

Kurt Pongratz - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hello Errol, I had been hunting this stag for several weeks. I refreshed what I learnt on your training course by re-reading your excellent books on sambar hunting. It had been a very dirty wet week up here and the weather was bad when I shot him about an hour ago.

He was bedded exactly where you said he would be in these rainy conditions. And he was in a zone of silence. I just wanted to let you know that all your help has ended in success - a magnificent and better than 30 inch sambar stag. The excitement of taking my first sambar stag has been so great that I have had many sleepless nights since. Read Kurt’s full story in SOTS magazine Issue # 6. Read Full Story >>

Kurt Pongratz, Eden, NSW

Sam Van Assche - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #36

Sam Van Assche - Sambar Deer Success Story
Gooday Errol, I have taken an amazing amount of sambar since doing your course including this old malformed stag - my 2nd stag since doing your course but I have also taken several hinds for venison. The difference it has made to my success rate is simply amazing.

Thanks again for all your help. Your course really is an investment in a lifetime of more successful and more enjoyable hunting. Read Full Story >>

Sam Van Assche, Malvern, VIC

Andy Ziems - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #35

Andy Ziems - Sambar Deer Success Story
Employing sambar behaviour and tactics learnt on Errol Mason's Hunt Smart Course I took this fine young stag.

The great benefit I got from doing the Hunt Smart course is that now I don?t spend all my time walking the bush. I just have my go to areas where I have learnt they will be in the conditions and without a doubt they are never far away. They are creatures of habit. I now use low impact tactics and I know my hunting area well. All these elements and many more assisted in taking this young stag, My 2nd since doing the course late last year. The thing about the Hunt Smart system is that it just works. It’s that simple. Read Full Story >>

Andy Ziems

Sandro Deluca - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #33

Sandro Deluca - Sambar Deer Success Story
For 2 years I had been hunting sambar nearly every weekend during the cooler months. I was putting them up but never able to get a shot. They were always running and gone in a flash so I decided to attend Errol's Hunt Smart Sambar Training Course.

Using knowledge learnt on the course, I sat motionless in the right spot and waited for this young stag to walk right past me. When he was a mere 20m away I made him stop and took the shot. I was stoked. If I hadn’t attended Errol’s course I would still be walking aimlessly around the bush putting them up and never getting a shot - let alone a perfectly aimed one at a motionless deer. Read Full Story >>

Sandro Deluca, Tarneit, VIC

Jayson Dehn - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #32

Jayson Dehn - Sambar Deer Success Story
G'day Errol, I thought I'd share this with you. On Saturday I finally shot my first sambar since doing your course in July this year. It's not a big stag but it's a start! It was exactly where you said it would be. It had got down to about 3°C overnight but the days had been about 25°.

I had picked out a saddle I was going to hunt. I planned to hunt the west face first and then drop back over the east side if I saw no deer. I walked the spur up to the saddle and noticed it was a little windy. Based upon your advice I knew the deer would not be there. However I did have the wind in my favour so I pushed up towards the saddle. As I got closer to the saddle I started glassing the head of the saddle and noticed the bush was still - a zone of silence. Sure enough as I came around the corner of some dogwood I spotted a spiker bedded just to the side of the saddle in filtered sunlight that was shining through. We spotted each other at the same time but by the time he stood up I had already had the rifle up and shot. I saw his legs buckle instantly so I knew I had hit him. He gingerly started to run so I shot again but missed. I watched him slow down start to wobble then lost … Read Full Story >>

Cheers, Jayson Dehn

Michael Pritchard, Melbourne - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #31

Michael Pritchard, Melbourne - Sambar Deer Success Story
After 4 mates and I had spent several frustrating and unsuccessful years hunting sambar, we decided to attend Errol Mason's Hunt Smart course. We attended on 5-7 October 2012 and on the 20th of October - just 2 weeks later one of my mates and I went on our first hunt since the course. Using the system which Errol's course had armed us with, we began hunting sambar with a totally new approach. And right from the start the plan came together.

At dawn on the first morning of our hunt - for the first time ever - we got to watch sambar that did not know we were there. First we watched a hind travel down a spur line, backlit by the red glow of the rising sun. What a spectacular photo that would have been. Then we spotted 6 or 7 others with calves on what Errol calls a feeding hub - the hub of his wagon wheel approach to understanding sambar. Then I spotted him on a distant hub just 100m above the valley floor - a young stag grazing in the soft diffused light of dawn. I stalked into a patch of wattles - set up my shooting sticks, took careful aim at his broadside form and from 250m and released a 180gn Core-Lokt. He ran 50m then fell over dead. Instantly Errol’s Hunt Smart system made what previously had seemed nearly impossible, almost too easy. Read Full Story >>

Michael Pritchard, Melbourne

Edward Malone - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #30

Edward Malone - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, It's taken me 8 years of hunting but only 3 trips after attending Errol's Hunt Smart course for me to secure this - my first Sambar stag last weekend. I'm absolutely stoked!!

In 2012 I decide to step it up, I was not getting near stags trying to walk them up so decided to change tactics. I started to become involved in the online forums, asking questions, I read Errol Masons "Secrets of Sambar" several times and made a promise to spend every week off footy in the bush. The research I had done highlighted the "Hunt Smart" course as a very valuable experience, I spoke to Errol several times and he was kind enough to fit in with my footy commitments and I joined in a course. All I can say here is that anyone even contemplating hunting deer should make this mandatory. I would have saved the cost of the course twice over with the advice on binoculars, scopes and clothing alone. The course syllabus is then a bonus, which is apt because money can’t buy what I learnt on this course. I’d like to extend my gratitude to Glen Roberts of Pr… Read Full Story >>

Thanks & Regards, Edward Malone

Andy Ziems - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #29

Andy Ziems - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, Just a quick note to let you know that I caught this stag out in the open and was forced to take a standing shot from 80m. He's only 23 inches but I am very happy to have taken one since doing your course in late June this year.

This stag met perfectly the 90% predictability that the Hunt Smart system provides and it was great to put the theory into practice after doing the course. Read Full Story >>

Andy Ziems, Wodonga Vic.

Robert Borsak - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #28

Robert Borsak - Sambar Deer Success Story
Another fine Sambar Stag taken using Errol's Hunt Smart system.

Read Full Story >>

Robert Borsak, MLC, Shooters and Fishers Party

Jim Colquhoun - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #27

Jim Colquhoun - Sambar Deer Success Story Jim Colquhoun - Sambar Deer Success Story
Since attending our Hunt Smart course in late 2011 Jim Colquhoun has had close encounters with 3 sambar stags. The first two eluded him, but the third wasn't so lucky. It was close to dark when this 3 year old stag with 20inch antlers came out of the bush just 42m to Jim's front.

The stag exited the bush lower down the face than Jim had expected so he had to partially stand to obtain sufficient elevation to shoot downwards. Despite moving slowly and cautiously - the instant he did so the stag - who was facing straight ahead - saw Jim’s movement, turned and stared at him. Fortunately by that time Jim was able to fire the fatal shot and take his first sambar. Well done Jim!!! Read Full Story >>

Jim Colquhoun

Nathan Grimes - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #24

Nathan Grimes - Sambar Deer Success Story Nathan Grimes - Sambar Deer Success Story
Within 43 minutes of hunting after Errol's "Hunt Smart" course, between the 2 of us we had seen 8 hinds, 1 trophy stag and bagged a hind for venison. Errol talks about the 'Stars Aligning', and they most certainly did for us on this occasion. We are always amazed by this creature and this was no exception. - Nathan Grimes

My brother and I had been planning this hunt since we attended Errol Mason’s "Hunt Smart" course 4 weeks ago in October 2011. We were eager to get into the bush and put the tactics into place that we had eagerly lapped up on the course. We decided to head into our favourite spot hoping to get a better mental map of it using the tricks and knowledge passed onto us by Errol. I had walked this particular bit of bush many times before but after the "Hunt Smart" course, it was like I was looking at it through different eyes. There were signs left by deer that now stand out like a sore thumb. A short time later a good sized hind stood up just 35m in front of my brother. She was on full alert looking down the face and away from him. He sent a 180gn Winchester on its way which hit her just behind the ribs. Suddenly the bush came to life and 2 other hinds and a yearling … Read Full Story >>

Nathan Grimes

Luke Neesham - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #23

Luke Neesham - Sambar Deer Success Story
This was unbelievable - I'd just shot my first Sambar stag! And not even an hour after taking my first Sambar only 500m back along the creek. Luke Neesham - one very proud hunter with his first Sambar stag - his second Sambar for the day.

G’day Errol, It’s been less than 12 months since my brother Matthew and I did your "Hunt Smart®" Training course. I’m very happy to let you know that I’ve taken my first Sambar deer, a hind then unbelievably took a Sambar Stag in the same day, using your ‘Hunt Smart’ theory from your training course and the Secrets of the Sambar books. A good mate Ben and I decided to hike into a secluded spot where we had hunted regularly over the summer and seen a lot of sambar sign. We knew as the gates were closed off for winter that the deer in the area would be less alarmed. After a 2 hour hike we made it to the hut around lunchtime, had a feed, dried off our hunting gear and planned our afternoon sit and wait tactics. It was 3:30pm, the rain had stopped, the sky had cleared and the sun came out - perfect hunting conditions. We decided to split up and … Read Full Story >>

Luke Neesham

Colin and Peter Wood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #22

Colin and Peter Wood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hello Errol and Lynne, Peter and I wanted to thank you for all your help and hospitality during the lead up to and also during our recent attendance on your Hunt Smart Sambar training course. We learnt an amazing amount about Sambar over the three days that would otherwise have taken years of time in the bush to glean on our own. We thank you for sharing your massive body of knowledge with us.

We had a great time for the rest of our stay in Victoria. We were fortunate in that we saw sambar deer in two locations on the drive to our planned hunting area. The first sighting was of two hinds feeding on the river flats at about 8am. We stopped the car and watched them for 20 seconds or so before they moved away into thicker cover. The second sighting was of a spiker that was standing on the edge of a clearing in an east facing gully head. He was standing motionless watching us at a distance of 50m or so. He was in full shadow other than his back leg which enabled Peter to spot him. These sightings really set our spirits high as I had never actually seen a sambar in daylight before and to have two sighting in one morning was encouraging to say the least. Then later, employing knowledge acquired on the course, I took this young stag with a single shot from my Sako 338 Win Mag using a… Read Full Story >>

Colin and Peter Wood, North Queensland

Leon Alexander - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #21

Leon Alexander - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol & Lynne, I took this beautiful little stag shortly after attending your course. He had just come out of a wallow so he is covered in mud. I shot him from 25m from a ground hide located and built just like you teach on the course.

Your course taught me many of the finer points that I didn’t understand, even though I had taken 4 good stags before I attended. These 4 stags included a 26 incher and a 28 incher and I now understand why they were where they were. What I learnt on your course has enabled me to see many more unalarmed sambar than ever before. In fact recently I saw 20 in 2 trips - including 5 stags - and I put my mate Ray into positions where he could have shot 2 good stags but unfortunately he missed both. Anyhow thanks for everything. Your Hunt Smart course is an absolute cracker. Read Full Story >>

Leon Alexander, Churchill Vic

Matt Appleton - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #19

Matt Appleton - Sambar Deer Success Story
The 11th of September 2009 found me attending Errol Mason‘s Hunt Smart Sambar training course along with three of my mates, including Andrew Jones, who I had persuaded to come along. A great weekend was had and armed with the extra knowledge gained, Andrew and I headed straight up over Hotham to prepare for our high country hunt.

We had been planning this hunt for 12 months. I had hunted the chosen area the previous year using the traditional back pack method, hiking in behind the closed gates. Hence the previous years‘ experience provided a sound base on which to hunt the same area that I knew held a significant number of deer. I was excited to be heading back armed with last year‘s experience and the new knowledge gained from Errol. Two days after attending the course, with the help of my mate Andrew Jones, and employing tips learnt on the course, I took this magnificent sambar stag. Our thanks to Errol for his pearls of wisdom that helped make this a highly successful and enjoyable hunt. Regards, See Matt Appleton and Andrew Jones full story of ‘The Team Work Stag‘ in Secrets of the Sambar Vol 3. Read Full Story >>

Matt Appleton

Peter Walters, Kurt Vegners, Mafi Paratua - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #18

Peter Walters, Kurt Vegners, Mafi Paratua - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, We found your books meant much more to us after we attended your Hunt Smart course and received your personal tuition. Your course created the correct mindset for hunting Sambar.

Whilst we may not be the greatest success stories of your students, I felt that when armed with the knowledge from your course and your books as our reference source, we had sound strategies to implement as we progressed. We did not resort to "suck it and see" approaches. As a result, our hunts were always informative and fun, ultimately culminating in this Sambar hind. Great to touch base with you once again. Kindest regards, Read Full Story >>

Peter Walters, Kurt Vegners, Mafi Paratua

Shane Costello - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #17

Shane Costello - Sambar Deer Success Story
I originally went up for a day trip to check my trail camera. I arrived at about 730am and went straight to it and swapped the card. I went back up to my camp area to check the pics on my laptop. I had seen this bloke on every set and noticed he had been around a lot more lately. I shot a spikey sitting in the same hide 5 weeks earlier. So I knew they were bedding on this NE face somewhere.

I originally went up for a day trip to check my trail camera. I arrived at about 730am and went straight to it and swapped the card. I went back up to my camp area to check the pics on my laptop. I had seen this bloke on every set and noticed he had been around a lot more lately. I shot a spikey sitting in the same hide 5 weeks earlier. So I knew they were bedding on this NE face somewhere. I decided to hang around and have a sit until dark, got down at about 1.30pm after lunch and parked my self down for the rest of the day. Seen a few wallabies, rabbits, a fox whilst sitting, but no deer. At about 5pm I started hearing sticks breaking and bird alarm calls from the face I suspect they were on. My Vixen 8x42 binos s were on full alert. As we sat down we could only just see as it was almost dark. Then out of the scrub he walked. Vixens went up and I see it was a stag, the same one we had … Read Full Story >>

Shane Costello

Robert Zagorski - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #16

Robert Zagorski - Sambar Deer Success Story
G’Day Errol, I would like to thank you for helping me understand sambar. If I only become half the hunter as you, my goals for my life would be achieved, as you are truly an inspiration.

Using tactics learnt on Errol’s Hunt Smart® Training Course, Robert Zagorski took this unalarmed sambar hind for venison This is the story of my hunt to celebrate the arrival of our first born son, Alexander. On his birth I decided to head to the high country to mark the occasion. On arrival I found sign where the deer had been feeding exactly where Errol said it would be. I strategically placed myself in the ‘zone of silence’ using the Hunt Smart techniques learnt on the course. I scouted the gully for movement and soon found numerous deer moving down into the feeding ground. I ranged the spot at 300 yards and selected the best deer for quality table fair. I took the animal with a single shot, dropping it cleanly on the spot. I used projectiles, equipment and shot placement suggested by Errol. It was a text book hunt comprising a check list of sambar behaviour. It was very … Read Full Story >>

Robert Zagorski

Greg Young - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #14

Greg Young - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, It was late into my second year of Sambar hunting that I was rewarded with my first Stag.

After attending your Hunt Smart sambar training course earlier in the year, I gained valuable information in a variety of areas that I believe fast tracked me to this much valued 24 inch Sambar Stag. Thanks for everything Errol, Read Full Story >>

Greg Young, Shepparton, Vic

Shane Costello - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #13

Shane Costello - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, Another Hunt Smart Success Story for you.

I managed to take a hind using tactics you taught me on your course. One shot instant kill on an unalarmed hind that had no idea I was there. And during the first hour of hunting a new area. It doesn’t get any better than that. Wayne and I really appreciate the enormous amount you taught us. We will never hunt the old way again. Cheers, Read Full Story >>

Shane Costello, Corio, Vic

Andrew and Luke McMahon - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #11

Andrew and Luke McMahon - Sambar Deer Success Story
Hi Errol, Another Success Story from your 'Hunt Smart' training course. Luke and I are so happy with your course - the pictures say it all.

I have just come in from caping. Luke would not let me go to bed without sending you the pictures. Will tell you the story another time. Regards, Read Full Story >>

Andrew and Luke McMahon, Tumut, NSW

Ron Conrad - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #10

Ron Conrad - Sambar Deer Success Story
Ron Conrad's success story from Corryong Hunt Smart® Training Course

Hi Errol, I have been hunting (aka chasing) sambar for about 12 years without success. After doing your course I learnt more about ‘hunting’ sambar in 1 weekend than in the past 12 years. I was able to bag my first sambar - a hind - the very next day using the knowledge gleaned from your course. It was text book stuff. I first looked for sign of sambar in the area, found browse, fresh droppings and tracks. I found a wallow and took your advice about getting in 1 hour before dark, getting down wind and building a hide overlooking the wallow. Right on dusk I heard crashing through the bush and a stag and hind appeared. The stag knew something was wrong and honked in my direction several times but I could not get a clear shot at him, so decided to take the hind. My family are now enjoying plenty of venison. Thanks Errol Read Full Story >>

Ron Conrad, Sydney

Wayne Robinson - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #9

Wayne Robinson - Sambar Deer Success Story
Dear Errol, Just a quick note to thank you once again for the great course you ran. I got lots of really helpful information in regards to tracking and hunting of Sambar which has been really useful.

After leaving Swifts Creek I went up to Mansfield for some fishing and of course to try out my new skills at hunting Sambar. After two days of looking,I found a moist gully that looked promising with lots of sign. I was able to harvest a Sambar hind whilst she was making her way down to feed. I took her with a cross gully shot from 120 metres. I used the high shoulder blade/spine shot which you taught me and her legs buckled as the 180gn Norma hit her and she tumbled down into thick bush. After a bit of searching I soon realized that Sambar are as hard to see dead as they are alive. After finding her I took the attached photo. Although the bullet exited there was no blood trail at all. I was able to kill this unalarmed hind instantly with one shot by applying a number of techniques and tips you gave us on the course so thanks once again. I must say how incredibly fantastic it was to watc… Read Full Story >>

Wayne Robinson, Melbourne

David 'Bluey' Smith - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #8

David 'Bluey' Smith - Sambar Deer Success Story David 'Bluey' Smith - Sambar Deer Success Story David 'Bluey' Smith - Sambar Deer Success Story
Errol Mason explains to students on the AHI/Game Council NSW Hunt Smart Training Course how to age faecal pellets and how to determine the size and sex of the deer that left them.

CORRYONG HUNT SMART TRAINING COURSE SUCCESS STORY - DAVID ‘BLUEY’ SMITH Two days after attending Errol Mason’s Hunt Smart Training Course for Orange AHI members and Game Council managers, Chris Hyde and I headed to some farm fringe country not burnt by the 03 fires. Finding fresh sign on the fringe we moved up and glassed the North West face of a gully head. In the bottom I spotted a spiker as he got up out of his bed. A high shoulder/spine shot (with bone fragments splintering into the lungs) from Chris’s .325 WSM dropped him on the spot and I had my first Sambar. He was bedded not 200m from the ‘hub’ and 50m up the face from the bottom of the gully. I sincerely believe that Errol Mason’s Hunt Smart Training Courses are the only choice for those hunters wanting to learn the ‘Secrets of the Sambar’. The Hunt Smart System provided a we… Read Full Story >>

Bluey

David Smith
Game Manager: Sydney Metro / Central West
GAME COUNCIL OF NSW
Conservation Hunting

Paul Brincat - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #7

Paul Brincat - Sambar Deer Success Story
Left to right, Errol Mason, Anthony Macciocca and Paul Brincat examine a fresh sambar bed at the base of a large eucalypt. Errol explains how to tell it is actually a sambar's bed, how to tell the sex of its user and in what weather conditions it would be used.

Since attending Errol’s Hunt Smart® hunting course I’ve found that I now have the knowledge to better utilize my limited time in the field. When previously I would have gone on a 3 day hunt and seen maybe one stag, I now find that I can go to a particular spot, apply the tactics and things I have learnt on Errol’s course and see stags more frequently. It has also helped to put the pieces together to determine a stags behaviour and habits based on such factors as weather, food sources and breeding grounds. Recently I was applying this knowledge one afternoon whilst glassing a known wallow at 4 pm when a 30 inch stag materialised out of nowhere. While observing this magnificent animal for a total of 30 seconds, I was amazed to see just how cautious and calculating his behaviour was. He travelled stealthily, in total sneak mode, intentionally keeping to the bushline and a… Read Full Story >>

Paul Brincat, Mickleham, Vic.

Andrew Winwood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #6

Andrew Winwood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Using knowledge and tactics taught on Errol Mason's 'Hunt Smart®' Training Course

Andrew Winwood of Tasmania finally outsmarted this fine 24 x 24inch heavy antlered stag after spending several days working out how to ‘Out Smart’ him. Read Full Story >>

Andrew Winwood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #5

Andrew Winwood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Andrew Winwood and Paul Binns stalked silently into the best vantage point for the prevailing conditions - then using binos - spotted this massive bodied stag whilst he lay in his bed.

Paul harvested this old stag, who had proven over many years that he was very elusive, with a single shot from a 30/06 (see Secrets of the Sambar Volume 2 page 65). Read Full Story >>

Andrew Winwood - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #4

Andrew Winwood - Sambar Deer Success Story
Above: Using knowledge and tactics learnt whilst hunting with Errol Mason, Andrew Winwood (right) assisted John Butts to take this old wily stag.

After many years hunting fallow in Tasmania I thought it was time for a greater challenge. After hearing of Errol Mason’s success guiding hunters to trophy sambar and reading his articles in Guns & Game magazine I decided to book a 4 day hunt with him. I thought I didn’t really need a guide but I learnt so much during my first hunt that I have no hesitation recommending Errol to anybody needing a start with Sambar hunting or wanting to upgrade their skills. The knowledge Errol passed on was invaluable, not only for sambar, but I have used some of his tips for hunting fallow in Tassie. Errol’s tactics helped me take a couple of nice 220 and a 229 D.S. fallow, along with two very nice sambar stags and a few sambar hinds for venison. I was never lucky enough to take a sambar stag whilst hunting with Errol but I had many great experiences such as watching countless unal… Read Full Story >>

Andrew Winwood, Spreyton Tasmania

Kurt Pongratz - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #3

Kurt Pongratz - Sambar Deer Success Story
Kurt Pongratz of Eden Vic. helps Iias Salagaras and Toby Gumbridge build a hide on a 'Hunt Smart®' Training Course.

I am 69 years-old and have been hunting sambar for 20 years without much success. In fact in all this time I had not seen a single stag so I decided the smart thing to do was to attend Errol Mason’s ‘Hunt Smart®’ Training Course. During the information packed 2 days I picked up many very important tips which I used on my next hunt. As a result of what Errol taught me I changed my hunting tactics considerably. This enabled me to take a shot at my very first sambar stag within a week or two of completing the course. The mature stag was broadside and unalarmed when I fired. I have to say that it was the things which I learnt from Errol that enabled me to achieve what I had been unable to achieve in 20 years of sambar hunting. If you attend his training course you are guaranteed to become a much more successful hunter - not only of sambar - but of all game animals. Read Full Story >>

Kurt Pongratz Eden, Vic.

Mark Walker - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #2

Mark Walker  - Sambar Deer Success Story
Mark Walker with his first stag taken shortly after completing Errol Mason's Hunt Smart® Training Course Mark Walker had this to say about the course.

After 11 years of unsuccessful sambar hunting I recently attended Errol Mason’s ‘Hunt Smart®’ Training Course. Shortly afterwards I hunted the ‘High Country’ where I put into practice a lot of Errol’s hints and tips. It all paid off when I took a magnificent 25 inch stag doing precisely what he recommended. Without Errol’s vast knowledge and experience behind me I would still be wandering around the bush hearing a lot of crashing noises in the distance. Here I am with the ‘Trophy of a Lifetime’ - a most magnificent stag. Read Full Story >>

Mark Walker

Brett Cooke - Hunt Smart ® Training Success Story #1

Brett Cooke - Sambar Deer Success Story
A wily old stag taken by Brett Cooke less than 24 hours after attending Errol's 'Hunt Smart®' Training Course.

In Brett’s words, ‘I firmly believe my success on that hunt was largely attributable to Errol’s tuition and my employment of his ‘Hunt Smart’ system. I believe that in this world we make our own luck. I made mine when I consciously decided to gain knowledge by participating in Errol’s fabulous course. Without hesitation I recommend his ‘Hunt Smart®’ Training Course to all hunters, regardless of experience level.’ Read Full Story >>

Brett Cooke




View all Hunt Smart® Success Stories